Enabling a Transfer or HTTP Proxy

Setting up your connection if you are behind a proxy server

If, for network-security reasons, you are behind a proxy server or an HTTP proxy server, you can enable these proxies for file transfer by configuring settings in the Preferences dialog. Preferences can be accessed either from the Preferences button in the upper-right corner of the desktop client window menu, or from the Tools button in the main toolbar.

If you have admin privileges, you can enable transfer proxies for all users by setting global preferences. If you are a non-admin user, you can override global transfer-proxy settings for your own account, including enabling or disabling the feature.

By default, proxy settings are turned off.

Global Proxy Settings

To enable or adjust proxy settings globally, select Tools > Global Preferences. You must have admin privileges to set global preferences:

In the Proxy dialog, you can set the following:

Enable transfer proxy

Enable HTTP proxy

By default, all proxy settings are turned off. For global preferences, clicking Restore System Defaults clears all settings.

User Proxy Settings

To override the global settings, you can enter personal settings for your own account. Select Tools > Preferences or click the Preferences link in the upper-right corner of the desktop client window:

Under Proxy, the values inherited from the global proxy settings will be filled in initially. You can set the following:

Enable transfer proxy

You can also clear your personal settings by clicking Restore Defaults. Your settings will revert to the current global settings.

If you are an admin, you can access the global proxy dialog by clicking the Global Preferences button.

Enable HTTP proxy

By default, all proxy settings are set to the global values. For personal preferences, clicking Restore Defaults changes all settings to the global values.