Document Root

The absolute path, or docroot, is the area of the file system that is accessible to an Aspera transfer user. The default empty value allows access to the entire file system. You can set one global docroot and then further restrict access to the file system by group or individual user. Docroot paths require specific formatting depending on where the transfer server's storage is located.

Important: The default server configuration gives users full access to the server's file system with read, write, and browse privileges. Aspera strongly recommends setting a docroot for all Aspera transfer users to limit their access.
  1. Run Enterprise Server as Administrator.
  2. Open the Server Configuration dialog box by clicking Configuration.

    Bring up the Server Configuration window

  3. Click the Global, Groups, or Users tab.
    You can apply settings to all users , all users in a specific group, or to specific users. If you select Groups or Users, select the group or user for which you want to configure settings.
  4. On the Docroot tab, set the docroot.
    Select Override in the Absolute Path row to set a docroot. User docroot settings take precedence over group settings, which take precedence over global settings.

    Docroot configuration options.

    Format examples
    • Local storage absolute path:C:\Users\aspera424\movies

      Or using a placeholder for usernames: C:\Users\$(name)

    • Local storage in URI format: file:///C:\Users\bear\movies

      URI format is required for server-side encryption-at-rest, but is not supported by the Aspera Watch Service.

    Docroots can also be set to apply to specified IP addresses, but this is not possible to do in the GUI. For instructions, see aspera.conf - File System.

  5. Set read, write, and browse permissions.
    By default, users have read, write, and browse permissions in their docroots. To disable these permissions, select Override in the Read Allowed, Write Allowed, or Browse Allowed rows and select false. User permissions settings take precedence over group settings, which take precedence over global settings.
  6. Click OK to save your changes.