When Home Shares are enabled, users will automatically have a private share added and authorized when they first log into Shares. Home share creation for new users applies to all new users, including local users, directory users, and SAML users. Users can give other users access to their home folders.
You can choose which node to use for home directories. A new directory is created on the node, and a share is added to the user’s account. The user’s name is used for both the directory and share name.
Home shares are treated like regular shares by the application. Therefore, you can choose to authorize additional users to these shares or remove them individually after the initial creation.
If you disable home shares on a node, any existing home directories on the node are not deleted.
When you log in, you can see all the home shares under the HOME SHARES heading.