User Permissions

Admin

There are three levels of permissions for an account authorized to access a share.

Users with the admin permission can create new shares and users and have full rights to modify or remove all existing shares and users.

Managers

Administrators can use the manager permission to delegate the creation of Shares and Users to another user without giving that account full administration privileges. Assigning a user to a share as its manager gives that user administrative privileges for that share and all inherited subdirectories. If a user creates a new share within a managed share, the manager of the share automatically gains administrative rights to the new share as well. Refer to Authorize a User, Group, or DS With Manager Permissions for instructions on how to authorize manager permissions for a user.

Restrictions on the Manager Permission

Though a user with manager permissions effectively becomes the admin for that share, there are the following restrictions:

User

A user can access any share it has authorizations to access, but the actions it is allowed to take can be set and managed by any user with administrative priviliges for that share. Some common actions include browsing, uploading, and downloading files, and modifying the directory holding the files.