Configure User Settings

You can access a user's settings and activity logs by clicking Edit for the user you wish to configure. You can find a list of users by selecting Accounts > Users from the Admin menu.
Tab Description

Detail

Update the local user's name, username, and email address, or delete the local user from Shares.

Member of

Add this user to a local group by selecting one from the drop-down list. Only local groups that have been added to Shares appear on this list.

Note: You cannot add local users to a directory service group, only to local groups. For instructions on configuring directory service users, see Importing DS Users.

After adding a local user to a local group, you can click Edit to modify the group's settings, or click Remove to delete the user from the group.

Clicking Edit takes you to local group's configuration page. See Adding Local Groups for details on modifying a local group's settings.

Security

You can update the following security settings:

  • Send the user a password reset link.
  • Disable the user's account. If you disable this user's account in this dialog, the user cannot log into Aspera Shares even if the user belongs to a group that has group access permissions.
  • Allow the user to log into the Shares application.
  • Make this user an administrator.
  • Allow the user to log into the API. Users who do not have Browse permissions, can still log into the API and perform transfer and file operations.
  • Set an account expiration date.
  • Set a temporary password.

Shares

Click Add Share to authorize specific shares for the local user to access. If this user belongs to a local group, and the group has access to a share, that share is listed here because permission to access the share is inherited from the group.

A list of nodes and shares appears. Click Authorize to authorize a share.



You can modify the local user's permissions for browsing, transferring, and performing file operations within it. The default permission is browse. If browse is not selected, the local user is only able to access functions if the user has been made an API user To edit these permissions or disallow the local user's access to the share, click edit.



Select permissions that the local user has for the authorized share.After modifying the settings, click Update. You may disallow access to this share by clicking Delete.
Note: Regular users are not automatically notified when given access to a share unless they have enabled it. To enable notifications about shares access, users can open their Preferences page, Edit their Email Settings. The default setting for regular users is false. The default setting for administrators is true.

Preferences

Select a timezone and enter any comments.

Transfer Setting

You can override settings of Shares and groups, if the user belongs to a group, by implementing transfer settings specifically for this user. Click Override these settings to make transfer settings changes in the enabled text boxes.

Transfer settings include the following:

  • Upload target rate For example, 1.5 Gbps, 500Mbps, 10 K, 3000. Leave blank to use the node's settings.
  • Upload target rate cap For example, 1.5 Gbps, 500Mbps, 10 K, 3000. Leave blank to use the node's settings.
  • Download target rate For example, 1.5 Gbps, 500Mbps, 10 K, 3000. Leave blank to use the node's settings.
  • Download target rate cap For example, 1.5 Gbps, 500Mbps, 10 K, 3000. Leave blank to use the node's settings.
  • Starting policy: Select the policy to be enforced when the transfer starts:
    • Fixed The transfer transmits data at a rate equal to the target rate, although this may impact the performance of other traffic present on the network.
    • High The transfer rate is adjusted to use the available bandwidth up to the maximum rate.
    • Fair The transfer attempts to transmit data at a rate equal to the target rate. If network conditions do not permit that, it transfers at a rate lower than the target rate, but not less than the minimum rate.
    • Low The transfer rate is less aggressive than Fair when sharing bandwidth with other network traffic. When congestion occurs, the transfer rate is decreased to the minimum rate, until other traffic retreats.
  • Allowed policy: Select the policies that are available to the user during transfer. If you do not make any selections, the Inherit from node setting is displayed, which will apply the settings inherited from the node.
  • Encryption: Select Optional or AES-128. If you do not make any selections, the Inherit from node setting is displayed, which will apply the settings inherited from the node.
  • Encryption at rest: Select Optional or Required. If you do not make any selections, the Inherit from node setting is displayed, which will apply the settings inherited from the node. If you select Required, the uploaded files must be encrypted during a transfer to protect them while they are stored on a remote server. The uploader sets a password before uploading the file, and the downloader needs to enter that password to decrypt the file.

Activity

View and search for Shares activities by this user.