Setting Permissions for Individual DS Users

You can access an imported directory service user's settings and activity logs from the list of users found by selecting Accounts > Users from the Admin menu. Click Edit for the user you want to configure.

Tab Description

Detail

View the DS user's name, modify the directory, or delete the user from the IBM Aspera Shares application.

Member of

Displays all groups to which this DS user belongs. If the number of groups exceeds 100, a search facility is opened.

A group's Edit link takes you to a DS group's configuration page. For details on modifying DS group settings, see Importing DS Groups.

Security

Click Security to update the following settings:
  • Disable the user's account. The user is unable to log into Shares even if the user belongs to a group or directory that has access permissions.
  • Allow the user to log into Shares.
  • Make this user an Administrator.
  • Allow the user to log into the API. Users who do not have Browse permissions, can still log into the API and perform transfer and file operations.
  • Set an account expiration date.

Shares

Click Add Share to authorize specific shares for the DS user to access. If this user belongs to a DS group, and the group has access to a share, that share is listed here because permission to access the share is inherited from the group. The same is true if the entire directory has access to this share.



A list of nodes and shares appears. Click Authorize to authorize a share. .



You can modify the DS user's permissions for browsing, transferring, and performing file operations within it. The default permission is browse. If browse is not selected, the DS user is only able to access functions if the user has been made an API user To edit these permissions or disallow the DS user's access to the share, click edit.



Select permissions that the DS user has for the authorized share.



After modifying the settings, click Update. You may disallow access to this share by clicking Delete.

Preferences

Select a timezone and add any comments.



Transfer Settings

You can override settings of Shares for this user by implementing transfer settings specifically for this user. Click Override these settings to make transfer settings changes in the enabled text boxes.



Transfer settings include the following:

  • Upload target rate For example, 1.5 Gbps, 500Mbps, 10 K, 3000. Leave blank to use the node's settings.
  • Upload target rate cap For example, 1.5 Gbps, 500Mbps, 10 K, 3000. Leave blank to use the node's settings.
  • Download target rate For example, 1.5 Gbps, 500Mbps, 10 K, 3000. Leave blank to use the node's settings.
  • Download target rate cap For example, 1.5 Gbps, 500Mbps, 10 K, 3000. Leave blank to use the node's settings.
  • Starting policy: Select the policy to be enforced when the transfer starts:
    • Fixed The transfer transmits data at a rate equal to the target rate, although this may impact the performance of other traffic present on the network.
    • High The transfer rate is adjusted to use the available bandwidth up to the maximum rate.
    • Fair The transfer attempts to transmit data at a rate equal to the target rate. If network conditions do not permit that, it transfers at a rate lower than the target rate, but not less than the minimum rate.
    • Low The transfer rate is less aggressive than Fair when sharing bandwidth with other network traffic. When congestion occurs, the transfer rate is decreased to the minimum rate, until other traffic retreats.
  • Allowed policy: Select the policies that are available to the user during transfer. You can also select Inherit from node to use the node’s setting.
  • Encryption: Select Optional or AES-128. You can also select Inherit from node to use the node’s setting.
  • Encryption at rest: Select Optional or Required. You can also select Inherit from node to use the node’s setting. If you select Required, the uploaded files must be encrypted during a transfer to protect them while they are stored on a remote server. The uploader sets a password before uploading the file, and the downloader needs to enter that password to decrypt the file.

Activity

View and search for Shares activities by a specific user.