The Manager Permissions page (Admin > Security > Manager Permissions) controls how managers of shares can administer users and groups of their shares. Admins can allow managers to administer users and groups through the Shares UI, through the Shares API, or both, by enabling or disabling the following options:
These options are disabled by default.
In a common use case, admins may decide that managers should administer users solely through the API and disable access to the Shares UI. For more information about users configured to use the API, see Shares API Permissions.